Home again

January went by fast. Part of the reason for that was that both Andrea & I had a nasty cold that lasted two weeks between the two of us. In my last post I mentioned we had rented a space big enough for all of us. I didn’t mention that it was barely big enough for all of us in that it’s the upper floor of a small house.

We went from 19 rooms in Lakeville to six here. The kitchen which is an okay size for a kitchen serves as both a kitchen and laundry room. The living room is serving triple duty as a workspace/office, dining & living room. Our bedroom had a dresser serving double duty as a standup desk for my development server & as a small sewing area for Andrea.

Needless to say we didn’t rent it with the intention of staying longer than the one year. In addition to being quite cramped we picked the area which would give Meaghan the best access to potential jobs vs a location more suited to Andrea & I.

When we were looking for places to rent last year, many of the places that sounded better (size, location, etc.) for us were being listed anywhere up to six months in advance. Once we were through Christmas, I started checking for rentals that were for an entire house and in locations where we would feel more at home. Within a few days I found three houses that all looked like they might fit the bill. We signed a lease on one of them about two weeks later.

Down river

We got our keys on Thursday night and will be moving on Monday. Andrea uploaded a few pics of some of the interior. Except the last eight months, Andrea & I have had a water view of either a lake or river since 2001. Our new back yard has waterfront on the Saint John River. The two pics on the right are up & down river.

Up river

One of the things I’ve been doing over the last year has been sketching out plans for eventually building a new house. Interestingly, this house has roughly the same floor space as many of those sketches. We both expect that living in roughly the same square footage will help us with morphing those sketches into plans.

We’re both very excited to feel at home again.

Author: Ron

Homeschooling dad of 4 (ages 27 - 14), grampy to 3, WordPress core contributor, former farmboy & software developer by profession.